Nominations open to celebrate UofL alumni entrepreneurial successes



    LOUISVILLE, Ky. – The University of Louisville College of Business is seeking nominations for this year’s Entrepreneurship Circle of Fame honors.

    The Circle of Fame spotlights College of Business alumni who have demonstrated significant success as entrepreneurs. Their names are permanently added to a granite monument at the college to serve as inspiration for all students.

    The first Circle of Fame honorees were named in 2012. A total of 13 people have since been recognized.

    Last year’s winners were Diane Medley, ’80, managing partner and co-founder of MCM CPAs & Advisors and chair of the UofL Foundation board of trustees and W. Earl Reed III, ’73, founder of healthcare companies including Springstone and The Allegro Group.

    Other past honorees have been W. Stewart Cobb, ’56 (2012); Thomas R. Davidson, ’62 (2012); Terry E. Forcht, ’59 (2012); David A. Jones, ’54 (2012); James A. Patterson, ’55 (2012); Daniel C. Ulmer, ’55 (2012); Kenneth C. Gardner, ’72 (2013); Kent Oyler, ’80 ’82 (2014); Thomas A. Wimsett, ’86 (2014); Randall J. Bufford, ’81 (2015); and Sean O’Leary, ’95 (2015).

      Nominations are due Sept. 15. The winners will be announced in early November during a ceremony at the College of Business.

    The online nomination form can be found at For further information, visit the College of Business at



    Janet Cappiello covers student success for the Office of Communications and Marketing. She has more than 30 years’ experience in journalism, including working for The Associated Press and magazines such as Vegetarian Times and Sustainability: The Journal of Record. She has been at UofL since 2014.