Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame Announces 2012 Inductees


    LOUISVILLE, KY (February 3, 2012) – Today, the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame announced the names of this year’s inductees. The organization’s selection committee has chosen inductees each year since 2003. The announcement was made during a press conference in Louisville at The Brown Hotel.

    Prominent members of the Hall of Fame include former University of Louisville coach Howard Schnellenberger, New York Giants quarterback and Morehead State University graduate Phil Simms, and the late Lenny Lyles, defensive back for the Baltimore Colts and San Francisco 49ers.

    The official induction ceremony will be open to the public and will take place on June 15 during the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 10th Anniversary Celebration. Tickets for the ceremony will be available to the public for purchase. The celebration will also include events for inductees, sponsors, and guests, including a golf scramble, ring ceremony and other activities, occurring June 14-16 in Louisville.

    “As the only state to have a Pro Football Hall of Fame, the opportunity to recognize these individuals for their contribution further distinguishes Kentucky as we honor them,” said Frank Minnifield, Executive Director of the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame. “This should serve as a moment of pride for all Kentuckians.”

    In addition to the naming of the 2012 inductees, the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its intention to honor the late Johnny Unitas, NFL Hall of Famer who played for the University of Louisville. The 2011 All Commonwealth Collegiate Team was also announced at the press conference, including Defensive Player of the Year Danny Trevathan of the University of Kentucky, and Offensive Player of the Year Bobby Rainey of Western Kentucky University.

    The Blanton Collier Award for Integrity will be presented at the 10th Anniversary Celebration in June, this year to the Manning family, including Peyton and Eli, who will be attending along with their parents Archie and Olivia, and their older brother, Cooper. The award is named for the former Cleveland Browns and University of Kentucky football coach.

    Jill Scoggins is Director of Communications at UofL's Louis D. Brandeis School of Law. She has been at UofL since 2010.