Casey named chair of psychiatry, behavioral sciences at UofL


    LOUISVILLE, Ky. – David A. Casey, M.D., has been named chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Louisville School of Medicine. He has served as interim chair since Jan. 1.

    “The Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at UofL is known for its robust program in academic psychiatry across all areas of education, research and clinical care,” said Toni Ganzel, M.D., MBA, dean of the UofL School of Medicine. “We are fortunate to have Dr. Casey’s expertise in leading the department to continued growth.”

    Casey, a professor in the department, has served as senior vice chair and head of clinical services, charged with oversight of the patient care activities of the department. Previously, he was director of the geriatric psychiatric program and he practices as a geriatric psychiatrist with University of Louisville Physicians. He joined the faculty in 1985.

    In addition to his clinical service, Casey trains psychiatry residents on topics such as psychodynamic psychotherapy, psychopathology and administrative psychiatry. His interests include Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias, geriatric depression, psychiatric education and the history of psychiatry, on which he has lectured and published. He also serves as an editor of Psychiatrists In-Practice Examination of the American College of Psychiatrists, an evaluation tool that provides comprehensive self-assessment of professional skills for practicing psychiatrists.

    Casey received his undergraduate degree in biology with honors and his medical degree, summa cum laude, from the University of Louisville. He completed his psychiatric residency training at the University of Washington School of Medicine where he served as chief resident. He earned board certification in general psychiatry in 1988 and in geriatric psychiatry in 1991.

    Casey’s appointment was approved by the UofL Board of Trustees at its Oct. 8 meeting.

    Jill Scoggins is Director of Communications at UofL's Louis D. Brandeis School of Law. She has been at UofL since 2010.