The UofL Student Awards are in their 15th year. Using criteria of leadership, service and involvement, a committee selects recipients from student, faculty and staff nominations.

Dean of Students Michael Mardis, who assisted in presenting the awards, said it’s important for the university to take a moment and recognize the hard work of students for their excellence both inside the classroom and outside.

“It is inspiring to have some many outstanding students that are deserving of recognition. They represent the diversity and vibrancy that has become part of the UofL student experience,” Mardis said. “University of Louisville students are making a difference in the lives of others and are serving others in ways that will have a lasting impact.”

Emcees were 2015 Mr. and Ms. Cardinal Benjamin Hota and Erin Yenney, 2014 Homecoming Queen 2014 Kristi Knop and 2014-15 Student Activities Board Director Travone Taylor.

For a gallery of photos, visit

Winners are listed below:

  • Disability Resource Center Student of the Year—Brittany Pittman
  • Intramurals Solid Performance Awards – Margaret Barnett, Chelsea Cook, Jennifer Lestingi, Carolyn Meiman, Joel Mullen, Mary Elise Schlich and Katie Wells
  • REACH Tutor Award of Excellence—Carrie Reid
  • REACH Ambassador Spirit Award—Andrew Grubb
  • REACH Ambassador Award of Excellence—Danielle Deal
  • ACC Top Six for Service Award— Chelsea Bingham, Abby Chin, Emily Stalmack, Becca Maddock, Andrew Stewart, Erin Yenney
  • Outstanding Metropolitan College Student Award  – Heidi Arbuckle
  • The Peer Advisor of the Year—Benjamin Coffman
  • The Peer Advisor Rookie of the Year—Allie Funk
  • Most Outstanding Priority Advising Peer Advisor—Magen Cofer
  • Most Outstanding Gen 101 Teaching Assistant – Jessica Williams and Grant McKenzie
  • Most Outstanding Orientation Peer Advisor—Corey Feger
  • The Cultural  Center Advocacy Award— Isiah Scott, Josh Schuschke, Celes Smith
  • The Cultural Center Celebration Award— Ben Vivona, Caitlin Durgin, Laura Mallea
  • The Cultural Center Engagement Award—Temis Jimenez-Anaya and David Southers
  • The Cultural Center Scholarship Award— Lashawn Ford and Drew Mayfield
  • Adviser of the Year—Dana Seay
  • Outstanding Freshmen—Shayaan Khan and Madison Harley
  • Outstanding Sophomores—Jeremy Ball and Bridgette Hildreth
  • Outstanding Juniors – Brooke Billingsley, Laura Krauser and Jerome Soldo
  • Outstanding Seniors—Travone Taylor, Natalie Smith, Yi Ling Chan, Rebecca Sears and Amanda Allen
  • Outstanding Graduate/Professional Students—Tracey Eckersley,
  • Behnoush Abdollahi, Matthew Keith, Anika Gooch and Dylan C. Brock
  • Spirit Community (Individual) – Emily Ling
  • Spirit of Service (Individual) – Rebecca Maddock and Joseph Albrecht
  • Social Justice and Inclusion Award (Individual) – Samantha Harrison
  • Social Justice and Inclusion Award (Organization) – Cardinals for the Appreciation of Musical Theater (CAMT)
  • Spirit of Service (Group) – Swipe to Serve
  • Outstanding New Program/Initiative — Museum/Trolley Hop Night for Graduate Students
  • Student Activities Board Collaboration Award—Food Chains:  ELSB Green Initiatives, SAB Film Committee, and GRASS
  • Outstanding Student Employees—Katie Marie Connor, Kayla Davis, Elizabeth Ehlman, Kaitlyn Fussner, Nicole Jordan
  • Outstanding New Organization—Shades of Movement and Medical Spanish Club
  • Student Organization of the Year—Empowering Ladies Together
  • Cardinal Award of Excellence Scholar/Leader—Eslam Mostafa
  • Cardinal Award of Excellence Scholar/Volunteer—Lashawn Ford


Brandy Warren
Brandy Warren is coordinator for marketing and communications in UofL’s Office of Communications and Marketing, where she manages special events and promotes UofL’s Division of Student Affairs. She previously worked at daily newspapers in Kentucky and Alabama.