UofL Student Awards are in their 13th year. Using criteria of leadership, service and involvement, a committee selects recipients from student, faculty and staff nominations.

Dean of Students Michael Mardis said it’s important for the university to take a moment and recognize the hard work of students for their excellence both inside the classroom and outside.

“I was really impressed with our students, so many our giving back to the community, and through the organizations. We’ve seen this trend in this generation students,” Mardis said. “We have that kind of culture here that looks for ways to give back.”

Emcees were 2013 Mr. and Mrs. Cardinal Max Morley and Gillian Griggs; and 2012 Homecoming King and Queen Jeremy Bozarth and Angelika Uremovich.

Here are the recipients:

The Cardinal Award of Excellence – Scholar/Leader Award: Rabia Buridi

Harold Adams Award – Michelle Clemons

Outstanding Students

The outstanding student awards recognize undergraduate, graduate and professional students for academic achievement and overall leadership and service within the campus community

  • Graduate or Professional: Mennatallah Zaki,  Amerisa Waters, Eslam Mostafa & Amy Lueck
  • Seniors: Lauren Stern, Christopher Millett, Olivia Feldkamp, Emma Chapman
  • Juniors: Ryan Moran, Carrie Mattingly & Cecily Dupont
  • Sophomores: Nicholas Ostertag & Nicholas Lynch
  • Freshmen: Amanda Allen & Kathryn Ashby

Student Organization of the Year: Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Outstanding New Organization: River City Rocketry

Adviser of the Year: Luke Buckman with the Honors Student Council and The White Squirrel Arts & Literary magazine

Collaboration Award: Student Activities Board and UofL Health Promotion for “The Game of Life”

Outstanding Program: Delta Zeta Sorority for the Miss UofL scholarship pageant

Outstanding New Program/Initiative: Honors Student Council for the Yule Ball

Spirit of Service-Organization: Golden Key Society

Spirit of Service-Individual: Stewart Olivia Dunn

Spirit of Diversity-Organization: AVIATORS

Spirit of Diversity Individual: Fairen Harris

Spirit of Community-Individual: AJ Bucci

Departmental Awards

Student Affairs Outstanding Student Employees

  • Undergraduates: Lindsey Miller, Student Activities office; Franklin Neff; Student Activities office; Lauren Nehus, Vistor Information Center
  • Graduate students: Nathan Bush, Center for Hazards Research and Policy; Ashley Wimsett, Women’s Center; Ahmed EL-Barbouky; electrical and computer engineering department

Student Orientation Staff

  • Student Orientation Staff Rookie of the Year: Travone Taylor

Disability Resource Center

  • Student of the Year: MacKenzie Sloas

Office of Civic Engagement and Leadership

  • The Engage Lead Serve Red Wagon Award: Naseem Ansari, Elizabeth Hammond, Morgan Jenny, Franklin Neff, Jessica Nelson

Freshman LEAD True to Form Award:

  • Freshman LEAD: Alex Cooper, Zach Herde, David LoDestro, Jerome Soldo
  • Task Force Freshmen: Alex Oyler and Taylor Wilson
  • LEAD Reflections Awards — Stephanie Dooper and Rukmini Yakanti
  • LEAD Service Project Award — Anmol Kanotra and Ansley Sheridan
  • LEAD Outstanding Participation Award — Kelsey Collins and Michael Menkhaus
  • Profiles in Leaders spotlight honorees: Brandon McReynolds, Naseem Ansari, Katie Gardner, Khotso Libe, Jessica Nelson, Maxwell Voorhies, Sirena Wurth, Allison Hebert, Brittany Hubert, Morgan Jenny, Ryan Moran, Albin George, Travone Taylor, Spencer Scruggs, Justin Remmell, Valerie Stevens, Noor Yussuf

Department of Intramural-Recreational Sports

  • Solid Performance Award: Matthew Daunis, Tad Porter, Diedra Book and Jessica Rees

Housing and Residence Life

  • RSA Executive Board Member of the Year – Craig Pedan
  • RSA Hall Council of the year – Threlkeld Hall Council
  • RSA Program of the Year – Louisville Hall Boo’s Bash
  • RSA Resident of the Year – Katrina Hlebiczki
  • First Year Guide of the Year – Ian Soucy
  • Desk Assistant of the Year – Sydney Morton
  • Resident Assistant of the Year – Rebecca Insko
  • Housing Office Student Staff Member of the Year – Olivia Luehrmann
  • Hall Director of the year – Ryan Pinette
  • Housing Professional Staff Member of the Year – Bryan Shelangoski
  • NRHH Member of the Year – Eric Brinkman
  • Educational Program of the Year – “Sexpectations” by Noor Yussuf & Lauren Lewis
  • Service Program of the Year – “NRHH Vision Walk” by Eric Brinkman and the NRHH
  • Health Program of the year – “Making Healthy Choices” by Rebecca Insko, Nick Peak, & Alex Santomo
  • Diversity Program of the year – “What is Black History Month” by Lauren Lewis
  • Social Program of the Year – “Threlkeld Live! Coffee Housing” by the Threlkeld Staff
  • Overall Program of the Year – “Threlkeld Live!” by the Threlkeld Staff

Student Government Association

  • Staff members of the year: Alex Ruiz and Ben Weyman
  • Senator of the Year: Amerisa Waters and Elizabeth Delaney
  • Anthony Flaherty Spirit of SGA Award: John Turner

Panhellenic Council, Interfraternity Council and National Pan-Hellenic Council

  • Interfraternity Council “Greek Man of the Year”: Frank Gulla, Beta Theta Pi
  • The Panhellenic Council “Greek Woman of the Year”: Kristin Ramey, Sigma Kappa
  • Outstanding Greek Chapter/Council presidents: Hannah Rosenhamer; Alpha Omicron Pi; Jasmine Shadding; Alpha Kappa Alpha; David Osborne; Pi Kappa Alpha
  • NIC Chapter Award of Distinction: Sigma Chi Fraternity

Student Activities Board

  • Member of the Year: Franklin Neff

Office for LGBT Services

  • Amber Carrier Student Ally Award: Student Orientation Staff
  • Katy Garrison LGBT Student Leadership Award: Jyler Donovan, Molly Stephens, Scott Thompson, Natalie Topp, Aaron Weathers and Carrie Williamson


  • Tutor Award of Excellence: Divine Anene-Favour
  • Ambassador Award of Excellence: Phuong Luu
  • Ambassador Spirit Award: Aaisha Hamid


  • PEACC Program Leadership Award: Kimberly Ann Carstens

Office of Student Activities

  • George J. Howe Leadership Award: DeJon Day

International Center

  • 2012 International Student Award: Hampartsoum Barsoumian

Porter Scholars

  • Woodford R. Porter Outstanding Senior Award: China Ludlow, Kaila Washington, Mallory Durham,  Marcela Moore, Alexandra White, Jonathan Jones, Corey Bond, John Graves, Tra’Sean James and  Brandon Jacko.


  • Field hockey: Amber Thomas, Natasha Leickly, Paige Monsen
  • Football: Adrian Bushell, Alex Kupper, Keith Brown, Mario Benavides, Teddy Bridgewater
  • Men’s basketball: Chane Behanan, Gorgui Dieng, Luke Hancock, Peyton Siva, Russ Smith, Wayne Blackshear
  • Men’s soccer: Andrew Farrell, Dylan Mares, Greg Cochrane, Paolo DelPiccolo, Will Vitalis
  • Men’s swimming: Joao De Lucca
  • Softball: Katie Keller
  • Volleyball: Cailtin Welch, Gwen Rucker, Lola Arslanbekova
  • Women’s basketball: Antonita Slaughter, Jude Schimmel, Schoni Schimmel
  • Women’s soccer: Angelika Uremovich, Charlyn Corral, Chole Kiefer, Christine Exeter

Kentuckiana Metroversity Council

  • Undergraduate award: Melissa Behres
  • Graduate Professional: Gregory T. Yancey
  • Metropolitan College Outstanding Student Award: David Slaughter
Brandy Warren
Brandy Warren is coordinator for marketing and communications in UofL’s Office of Communications and Marketing, where she manages special events and promotes UofL’s Division of Student Affairs. She previously worked at daily newspapers in Kentucky and Alabama.