UofL faculty mentors and the medical students taking part in the Winn CIPP program.
UofL faculty mentors and the medical students taking part in the Winn CIPP program.

Four students from other U.S. medical schools spent six weeks at the UofL School of Medicine this summer participating in a service-learning externship designed to expose talented medical students of diverse backgrounds to community-engaged clinical and translational research.

The Robert A. Winn Diversity in Clinical Trials: Clinical Investigator Pathway Program (Winn CIPP) offers a distinctive approach to increasing diversity in clinical trials by providing medical students with a six-week intensive and immersive experience in underserved communities where underrepresented patients receive care.

La Creis Kidd, assistant dean of research diversity in the School of Medicine, leads Winn CIPP at UofL, one of nine sites nationwide hosting rising second-year students from U.S. medical schools in 2023. The students, who are committed to increasing inclusion, equity and diversity in clinical and translational research, gained exposure to clinical research, acquired community engagement and leadership skills and were mentored by early-stage investigators at UofL.

“Being awarded the Winn CIPP fellowship at the Louisville site has been so positive for my professional development at this stage of my medical career,” said Iyabo Erinkitola, a student at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine. “The University of Louisville School of Medicine has provided an abundance of support and encouragement as I learn to screen patients for more equitable clinical trials, perform biostatistics for relevant biologic investigations and sharpen my goals in medical science.” 

Winn CIPP scholars training at UofL from June 5 – July 14 included:

  • Yosef Ansarizadeh, University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth – Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Iyabo Erinkitola, University of Kentucky College of Medicine
  • Brianna Guillen, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine
  • Brian Wadugu, Carle Illinois College of Medicine

In addition to Kidd, the Winn CIPP at UofL is supported by faculty and staff members V. Faye Jones, Christopher Seals, Barbara Clark, Susan Sawning, Sharon Gordon and Dwayne Compton.

Read more about the Winn CIPP at UofL School of Medicine News.