UofL Honors Six Area Nurses during Florence Nightingale Awards


    LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Impacting patient lives, improving health outcomes, elevating the profession of nursing and inspiring others to consider nursing as a career are a few of the distinguishing characteristics of the six University of Louisville School of Nursing’s Florence Nightingale Award winners.

    “With more than 100 highly talented registered nurse nominees, our Planning Board members had very difficult selection decisions, as all our nominees represent various aspects of the qualities and talents of Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing,” said Marcia Hern, EdD, CNS, RN, dean and professor, UofL School of Nursing.


    First Florence Nightingale Awards in Nursing


    Mellwood Arts Center
    1860 Mellwood Avenue


    Thursday, November 6
    5:30 p.m. Reception
    6 p.m. Dinner
    6:45 p.m. Program


    UofL School of Nursing will honor the following area nurses:
    Tina A. Clark, RN, BSN – Jefferson County, Ky.
    Vivianne Griffiths, MSN, APRN – Jefferson County, Ky.
    Carolyn E. McKee, RN, ASN – Clark County, Ind.
    Vickie Miracle, RN, MSN, EdD – Jefferson County, Ky.
    Justine A. O’Flynn, RN – Jefferson County, Ky.
    Al Saylor, RN, BSN – Fayette County, Ky.

    Each of the six honorees will receive a $1,000 cash award and commemorative plaque.