Nominate an equine entrepreneur for the John W. Galbreath Award

    John W. Galbreath Award
    John W. Galbreath Award

    LOUISVILLE, Ky. – For more than 30 years, the University of Louisville College of Business has honored entrepreneurs in the equine industry with the John W. Galbreath Award. The award is presented annually to an individual whose entrepreneurial leadership has had a significant and positive impact on the equine industry.

    Nominations for the 31st annual award, presented by the UofL Equine Industry Program, are being accepted through Oct. 30.

    The award is named for the late John W. Galbreath, a self-made man who distinguished himself in both business and also as a horseman. Galbreath was the first person ever to breed and race Kentucky Derby winners (Chateaugay and Proud Clarion) and an English (Epsom) Derby winner (Roberto). He received Eclipse Awards as racing’s “Man of the Year” in 1972 and as the country’s outstanding breeder in 1974. Galbreath was heavily involved in importing top Thoroughbred stallions from overseas, including Ribot and Sea-Bird II.

    Galbreath built a small local firm into an international real-estate project-development company. His interests included the Pittsburgh Pirates baseball team and Darby Dan Farm, a Thoroughbred breeding and racing enterprise that won stakes races on three continents. He also served for many years as chairman of Churchill Downs.

    Recipients of the Galbreath Award demonstrate original and creative techniques or approaches to business, a willingness to take personal or career risks, forward-thinking and visionary management planning, an ability to render a business firm or organization more effective and profitable and the respect of peers as evidence of character and integrity.

    Previous awardees include John A. Bell III, Cothran “Cot” Campbell and Judith Forbis. The 2019 winner was B. Wayne Hughes, who re-established Spendthrift Farm as one of the largest stallion stations in the world through innovative marketing techniques such as the “Share the Upside” program.

    The 2020 awardee will be announced in late fall and honored at a dinner in Louisville. For more information and to submit a nomination, call 502-852-7617, email or visit


    Betty Coffman
    Betty Coffman is a Communications Coordinator focused on research and innovation at UofL. A UofL alumna and Louisville native, she served as a writer and editor for local and national publications and as an account services coordinator and copywriter for marketing and design firms prior to joining UofL’s Office of Communications and Marketing.