To be selected, nominated honorees must answer several questions related to roles within their organization, accomplishments within the past year, advice for life and goals they have yet to achieve.

The UofL winners were among 184 total recipients of distinction recognized Feb. 28, at a reception at the Ice House, and their names appear in Business First’s special Partners in Health Care issue, published March 2.

The list of 2012 People to Watch from UofL’s Health Sciences Center includes:

  • David Dunn, M.D., Ph.D., executive vice president for health affairs
  • Darryl Kaelin, M.D., Owsley B. Frazier Endowed Chair of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; associate professor and chief, Division of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Department of Neurological Surgery; and medical director, Frazier Rehabilitation Institute at Jewish Hospital
  • Henry Kaplan, M.D., Evans professor of ophthalmology; chair, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences; director, Kentucky Lions Eye Center
  • Kristine Krueger, M.D., chief of academic and clinical affairs, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition, Department of Medicine; chief of staff, University of Louisville Hospital
  • LaQuandra Nesbitt, M.D., assistant professor, School of Public Health and Information Sciences; health director, Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness
  • Mark Pfeifer, M.D., V.V. Cooke chair of medicine; senior vice president and chief medical officer, University of Louisville Hospital;
  • Gregory Postel, M.D., chair and professor, Department of Radiology; chief of radiology, University of Louisville Hospital; chairman of the board, University of Louisville Physicians
  • Shiao Woo, M.D., professor and chair, Department of Radiation Oncology

The list of 2012 Partners in Health Care from UofL’s Health Sciences Center includes:

  • Roberto Bolli, M.D., vice chairman for research, Department of Medicine; chief, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine; director, Institute of Molecular Cardiology
  • Richard Goldstein, M.D., vice dean for clinical affairs, School of Medicine
  • Laman Gray, M.D., professor of surgery and Jewish Hospital distinguished chair in cardiothoracic surgery; medical director, Cardiovascular Innovation Institute
  • Marcia Hern, Ed.D., R.N., dean, University of Louisville School of Nursing
  • Kelly McMasters, M.D., Ph.D., Sam and Lolita Weakley professor and chairman, Department of Surgery; co-vice chairman of the Board-Adults, University of Louisville Physicians
  • Donald Miller, M.D., Ph.D., director, James Graham Brown Cancer Center; chief, Division of Medical Oncology and Hematology, Department of Medicine; professor of medicine and pharmacology
  • Gerard Rabalais, M.D., professor and chair, Department of Pediatrics; president and chairman of the board, University Physician Associates; co-vice chairman of the board-pediatrics/adolescents, University of Louisville Physicians
  • James R. Ramsey, Ph.D., president, University of Louisville; chairman of the board, University Medical Center
  • Jesse Roman, M.D., professor and chair, Department of Medicine; secretary, University of Louisville Physicians
  • John Sauk, D.D.S., dean, University of Louisville School of Dentistry
  • Allan Tasman, M.D., professor and chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences; treasurer, University of Louisville Physicians
  • Stuart Williams, Ph.D., scientific director, Cardiovascular Innovation Institute