The 2018 Student Award Winners
The 2018 Student Award Winners

Students were honored for outstanding work in a ceremony April 19 in the Student Activities Center.

The UofL Student Awards, now in its 19th year, recognize students based on leadership, service and involvement. A committee selects recipients from student, faculty and staff nominations.

Dean of Students Michael Mardis, who assisted in presenting the awards, said it’s important for the university to take a moment and recognize the hard work of students for their excellence both in and out of the classroom. 

“We want these students to be engaged in the university and we want them to take the lessons they learn in that engagement here into the community, where they can become involved citizens for life,” Mardis said. 

Emcees were 2017 Homecoming Queen, Elshadai Smith-Mensah, 2017 Homecoming King, Brevin Woodford, 2018 Ms. Cardinal Alisha Davis-Kent, 2018 Mr. Cardinal Kevin Jacob.

Click here for a picture gallery of the evening. 

Here are the winners: 

DRC Student of the Year Award
• Shalece S. Kohnke

Intramural and Recreational Sports Solid Performance Award
• Shay Bradley
• Rachel Etzler
• Griff Hennessy
• Alex Lancaster
• Bailey Overstreet

ACC Top Six for Service Awards
• Kaela Dickerman
• Bailey Florek
• Victoria Gabor
• Margaret Geraghty
• Madison Luette
• Linda Mutter

Adult Learner Awards
• Sarah Norris
• Roy S Roberson
• Dr. Terri Rowland
• Amber Roberts-Scott

Outstanding Metropolitan College Student Award
• Brandi Knauer
• Breanna Sherrard

Profiles in Leadership
• Chelsea Bates-Adams
• Kyle Bilyeu
• Gillian Casey
• Dion Copeland
• Michael DeGroot
• Lakeisha Gardner
• Kelsey Hamilton
• Joseph Holland
• Emmanuella Hyacinthe
• Hannah Kemper
• Fadoua Khmaissia
• Dylan Martin
• Katie Maurer
• JaKashea Mayes
• Nadieh Rahbari
• Adney Rakotoniaina
• John Rhodes
• Emily Rich
• Erik Rieger
• Ciarah Ross
• Kiarah Ross
• Darius Sanford
• Halie Sawyers
• Dillon Sego
• Sam Stevens
• Asia Thornton
• Gabrielle Thornton
• Briana Williams
• Jessica Williams
• Nick Yates

A&S Peer Advisor of the Year
• Jazlyn Eddings

A&S Peer Advisor Rookie of the Year
• Sally Mercer

Most Outstanding Gen 101 Teaching Assistant
• Ruth Peter

Most Outstanding Orientation Peer Advisor
• Emily Johnson

Cultural Center Advocacy Award
• Elizabeth Peña

Cultural Center Celebration Award
• Josh Jean-Marie
• Ariana Cespedes
• Joseph Holland

Cultural Center Engagement Award
• Elliott Kelly
• Erica Wheeler
• John Rhodes
• Leonardo Salinas

Cultural Center Scholarship Award
• Lauryn Handley
• Andres Aguayo
• Camilla Lauciello

Outstanding Multicultural Student Organization Award
• Muslim Student Association

The Cultural Center Outstanding Ally Award
• Josie Raymond

Woodford R. Porter Scholar Service Award
• Sarah Caton
• Christabel Kusi Appiah
• Julie Nwosu
• Brianna Worrell
• Kassidy Barnett

PEACC Keeper Award
• Elshadai Smith-Mensah
• Behrad Bakhtiari
• Nala Kathleen

Katy Garrison LGBT Student Leadership Award
• Christian Arroyo
• Celeste Atchison
• Brittany Greenwell
• Rhiannon Ledgerwood
• Adam C. Neff
• Abigail Jean Rogers

Campus Housing Desk Staff Member of the Year
• William Cunningham

Campus Housing Desk Staff Member of the Year
• Korissa Ostic

Campus Housing Resident Assistant Leader of the Year
• Cassidy Flood

International Student and Scholar Center Award
• Joshua Osezua

CCU Outstanding Freshmen Student Award
• Emma Lawson

CCU Outstanding Sophomore Student Award
• Praneeth Goli
• Michael DeGroot
• Joshua Jean-Marie

CCU Outstanding Junior Student Award
• Faizan Ahmed
• John Rhodes

CCU Outstanding Senior Student Award
• Nathan Viner
• Sam Stevens
• Elijah Eisert
• Vishnu Tiramala

CCU Outstanding Student Awards for Graduate and Professional Students
• Lois Abdelmalek
• Alexandra Birmingham
• Tasha Golden
• Sara Williams
• Elaine Surdyke
• Ariel Watson

Spirit of Service (Individual)
• Dulcinea Gurley

Spirit of Service (Group)
• Student Bar Association

Social Justice and Inclusion Award (Individual)
• Joseph Holland
• Camila Calderon

Social Justice and Inclusion Award (Student Group or Organization)
• Best Buddies

Collaboration Award for Student Groups with University Departments
• The Young Communication Professionals (RSO)
• The UofL Career Development Center

Outstanding Academic/Educational Program
• “Engineering Exposition” by Speed School Student Council

Outstanding Cultural Program
• “UofL Uncensored” by the SAB Diversity Committee

Outstanding New Program
• “Minds at Work” by ELSB’s Vote Everywhere

Outstanding Program of the Year
• “I’m not Racist But…” by Voices in Action

Outstanding Student Employee Award
• Joseph Graf from the Office of Admissions
• Stephanie Vega from the Cultural Center
• Gabrielle Thornton from the Office of Student Involvement
• Lakeisha Gardner from the Women’s Center
• Jayna Winchester from the Office of Campus Housing

Advisor of the Year
• Nakia Strickland, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc

Harold Adams Award
• Julie Onnembo

Outstanding New Organization of the Year
• Voices in Action

Student Organization of the Year Under 50 Members
• United Nations Association at UofL

Student Organization of the Year 50+ Members
• raiseRED Dance Marathon

Cardinal Award of Excellence – Scholar/Leader
• Vishnu Tiramala

Cardinal Award of Excellence – Scholar/Volunteer
• Gabrielle Oropilla

Awards Judges
Zunaira Ahmad, Ron Burse, Jami Campbell, Dr. Latonia Craig, Heather Gentry, Jessica Gernert, Lori King, Sarah Klump, Kathy Meyer, Stuart Neff, Stephanie Passow, Tony Robinson, Michelle Rodems, Nicole Rosskopf, Stephanie Schoeder, Zach Smith, Dr. Angela Taylor, Shelley Tewell, Brandy Warren and Linda Wilde

Niki King
Niki King Jones is positive she has the best job at the University of Louisville, serving the communication needs of the departments of fine arts and theatre, the School of Music, University Libraries and Alumni – all the fun, creative stuff. Before coming to UofL in 2015, Niki held communication positions in both private and nonprofit sectors in Louisville, Ky., including at Heaven Hill Distilleries and the Jewish Community of Louisville. For 10 years prior, she was a reporter at various newspapers across the country, most recently The Courier-Journal. Niki graduated from the University of Memphis with a BA in journalism and has a masters degree in community and leadership development from the University of Kentucky.