The annual event showcases health/life sciences research conducted by graduate students, medical/dental students, public health and nursing graduate students, NCI-R25 undergraduate students, James Graham Brown Cancer Center high school research interns, postgraduates, research staff and faculty members at the University of Louisville.

Winners were honored in a special ceremony Friday, Sept. 27, in the UofL Clinical and Translational Research Building at the Health Sciences Center.
Congratulations came from Research!Louisville Chairman J. Christopher States as well as David L. Dunn, UofL executive vice president for health affairs; Ken Marshall, president of University Hospital/KentuckyOne Health; Matthew Williams, director of major gifts, Jewish Hospital & St. Mary’s Foundation/KentuckyOne Health; Rhonda Hoffman, systems director of research administration, Norton Healthcare; Pam Feldhoff, UofL associate vice president for research; and David W. Hein, UofL professor and chair of the Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology.

A panel of UofL faculty judges selected the award winners from more than 349 entries.
They are:

Master’s Basic Science Graduate Student Award
1st place Justin Huang
2nd place Anastasia Prokopenko
3rd place Stephen Wechman

Doctoral Basic Science Graduate Student Award
1st place Christopher Fleming
2nd place Amanda Pocratsky
3rd place Kyle Woodward

School of Dentistry Dental Student Award
1st place Mac Soult
2nd place Thomas Salter
3rd place Ben Werner

Norton Healthcare Medical Student Award
1st place Francesca Kingery
2nd place Venkat Ramakrishnan & Patrick Burchell
3rd place Ramy Fodah

Public Health & Information Sciences
Master’s Student Award Emily Pacholski
Doctoral Student Award Malhar Jhaveri
Basic Research in Public Health Award Yiqun Mo
Research & Practice in Public Health Award Ray Yeager

National Cancer Institute Outstanding Cancer Research Presentation Award Professional Student Category
1st place Samantha Barry
2nd place Sean Shannon
3rd place Matthew Forsthoefel

National Cancer Institute Outstanding Cancer Research Presentation Award Undergraduate Student Category
1st place Danial Malik
2nd place Tejas Sangoi
3rd place Srineil Bodduluri
3rd place Cameron Campbell

Michael K. Tanner Memorial Award for Excellence in Graduate Student Sciences
Winner Sabrin Albeituni

Ruth Greenberg Award for Excellence in Medical Education Research
1st place Sara Petruska
2nd place Candice Burns
3rd place Alex Bajorek

Student Engineering Collaboration Award
1st place Hisham Sliman
2nd place Adam Scarsella

School of Medicine Medical Resident Award
Winner Matthew Hirsch

School of Medicine Clinical Research Fellow Award
Winner Swapna Dharashivkar

Postdoctoral Fellow/Research Associate Award
1st place Smita Gadre
2nd place Luis Neves
3rd place Marjan M. Tajrishi

Research Staff Award
1st place Kellianne Piell

Young Faculty Investigator Award
Yi Tan

Jewish Hospital & St. Mary’s Foundation Basic Science Research Faculty Award
Gavin Arteel

Jewish Hospital & St. Mary’s Foundation Clinical Research Faculty Award
Tato Sokhadze

Wallace H. Coulter Translational Partnership Faculty Award for Translational Science
Adam Gaweda

Nursing Graduate Student
Jiyang Ling

The partners of Research!Louisville include University of Louisville; Jewish Hospital & St. Mary’s Foundation and University Hospital, both part of KentuckyOne Health; and Norton Healthcare. The event is now in its 18th year.