2016 Nightingale Awards Winners
The 2016 winners of the University of Louisville School of Nursing Florence Nightingale Awards (from left to right) Deborah Reed, Hilary Deskins, Emily Neal and Laura Ware. Winners not pictured: Anthony Frazier and Mimi McKay.

The critical and often unsung work of registered nurses was celebrated at the third annual University of Louisville School of Nursing Florence Nightingale Awards on Nov. 3 at Mellwood Arts Center. 

Six people from myriad facets within nursing were honored for impacting the lives of patients, improving health outcomes, elevating the profession of nursing and inspiring others to pursue nursing as a career.

Winners of the 2016 Nightingale Awards include:

  • Hilary Deskins, BSN, RN, manager of Cancer Prevention Services at KentuckyOne Health.
  • Anthony Frazier, BSN, RN, patient care manager at Amedysis Hospice in Jeffersonville, Indiana.
  • Mimi McKay, EdD, MSN, PMHNP-BC, associate professor at Indiana University Southeast School of Nursing.
  • Emily Neal, BSN, RN, SANE, forensic nurse specialist at the University of Louisville Kosair Charities Division of Pediatric Forensic Medicine.
  • Deborah Reed, PhD, MSPH, RN, FAAOHN, FAAN, University of Kentucky College of Nursing Distinguished Service Professor and Good Samaritan Endowed Chair.
  • Laura Ware, RN, ADN, nurse at the Crestview Center in Shelbyville.

Honorable Mentions went to: 

  • Stephanie Cline, RN, pediatric palliative nurse at Children’s Hospital.
  • Rebecca Gesler, EdD, MSN, RN, Spalding University School of Nursing associate professor.
  • Alyce Goodman-Abraham, APRN, WHNP, nurse practitioner at the Pelvic Pain Regional Specialty Center at Jewish Hospital Medical Center East.
  • Susan Sherman, RN, MAT, CHPN, community director of Hosparus Inpatient Care Center.
  • Jaime Walker, MSN, RN, MLDE, CDE, CPN, diabetes educator at Children’s Hospital.
  • Marlot Wigginton, RN, retired nurse from Norton Healthcare critical care.

Click here to view photos from the Nightingale Awards dinner.