The annual recognition program recognizes colleges and universities for their community service programs, practices and community partnerships.

 The award is administered by the Corporation for National and Community Service and the U.S. Departments of Education and Housing and Urban Development

The Corporation for National and Community Service, which has administered the Honor Roll since 2006, recognized 641 colleges and universities this year. More than 850 institutions applied for the honor roll.

UofL was also named to the honor roll in 2006 and 2008. In 2009, the university was named to the Honor Roll with Distinction, the only university in Kentucky to receive the higher honor.