Lucy Freibert, Eliza Atkins Gleason, Gerhard Herz and Phil Laemmle were added to the Hall of Honor, which was established during the college’s 2007 centennial for alumni, faculty and others who have made significant and lasting contributions to the college, university, local community and society.

We feel it is extremely important to recognize A&S alumni, faculty and administrators who have made singular contributions to the university and/or on the local, regional or national level, said A&S Dean Blaine Hudson. It is also important for our current and future students and faculty to know how many truly exceptional people studied and taught here – and that our students can and should set their sights high based on the examples of our honorees.

The 2010 honorees are:

  • Lucy Freibert, English professor emerita. A champion of gender equity and racial equality, she taught UofL’s first women’s studies course and helped establish the women’s and gender studies department and UofL’s Women’s Center. She received the Trustees Award in 1991 for her impact on students. Read more.
  • Eliza Atkins Gleason, former head librarian, teacher and library department founder at UofL’s segregated Louisville Municipal College, later was absorbed into the College of Arts and Sciences. Considered the first African American to earn a library science doctorate, she died in 2009. Read more.
  • Gerhard Herz, professor emeritus and music history department chair for 22 years. The renowned Bach scholar was a founding member of the American Bach Society and Louisville Chamber Music Society and a 20–year board member of the Louisville Orchestra. He died in 2000. Read more.
  • Phil Laemmle, former political science and liberal studies chair and professor emeritus. He also served as university ritualist, presiding over more than 30 commencements and two UofL presidential inaugurations. He got UofL’s first Trustees Award in 1989 for his impact on students. Read more.