Students and alumni who won the scholarships were introduced today to the university’s Board of Trustees during a board meeting.

“UofL’s faculty, staff and board members should be proud of the role they’ve played in producing such outstanding scholars. It’s further proof that UofL continues to recruit and then graduate incredible students with worldwide ambitions, on par with some Ivy League institutions,” UofL President James Ramsey said. 

Three scholars have earned 2014 U.S. Student Fulbright Awards. They are:

  • Yvonne Freckmann, San Antonio, Texas, 2013 graduate, master’s degree in music composition, will travel to the Netherlands to continue her studies at the Royal Conservatoire at The Hague.
  • Hunter Pittman, Hopkinsville, graduating senior, dual degrees in anthropology and sport administration, will teach English in Brazil.
  • Johanna Haejean Yun, Elizabethtown, graduating senior, dual degrees in anthropology and biology, will teach English in South Korea.
These Fulbright Award winners bring to 78 the number of UofL Fulbright award winners since 2003—more than any other Kentucky university.

Other students who earned prominent awards are: 

  • Patrick McClure, Corbin, graduating this month with a master’s degree in computer engineering, has earned a Cambridge International Scholarship to pursue a doctoral degree in cognitive and brain sciences at the University of Cambridge, England. He earned an undergraduate degree from UofL in bioengineering.
  • Ishita Jain, New Albany, Ind., master’s degree in bioengineering, will spend eight weeks in Cologne, Germany, as a Whitaker International Fellow working as a Wyle Laboratories bioengineering intern at the European Space Agency.
  • Joshua Hartsell, Conover, N.C., law degree, earned a spot as a Presidential Management Fellows Finalist and will spend the next two years working in Washington, D.C. on international trade policy as part of a leadership development program.
  • Charles Helms, Owensboro, 2011 alumnus, political science, earned the College of Arts and Sciences’ Mary Churchill Humphrey Scholarship. Helms will spend two years studying at the University of Oxford, England. He was previously a Fulbright scholar to Kosovo.

Patricia Condon, who heads the National and International Scholarship Opportunities office and has spent years building UofL’s program, said, “Each of these prestigious recognitions represents years of dedicated development of the unique academic, personal and leadership talents by the seven students presented today. Equally important is the support of faculty and staff mentors, university departments and the richly varied programmatic offerings instituted here that assures our graduates can compete with the most elite institutions in the United States and abroad.”

 For a profile of each scholar, go to



Cindy Hess
Cindy Hess has more than 30 years of experience in communications, marketing and investor relations, including more than a decade at UofL. She is "sort of" retired but happy to come back to the Office of Communications and Marketing to help with special projects and assignments.