Each year the University of Louisville and Louisville Alumni office honor distinguished graduates who are exemplary ambassadors for the university at an annual homecoming awards ceremony. Two new awards have been created this year, focused on diversity and emerging leaders.

The Diversity Leadership Alumni Award will honor a graduate who has demonstrated leadership in promoting diversity and inclusion through their professional and volunteer endeavors. The award winner will be recognized for raising awareness for underrepresented populations and a deep commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion. The new award supports the university’s Cardinal Anti-Racism Agenda goal of being the premier anti-racist metropolitan research university by seeking to formally recognize graduates who are working for social change.

The Emerging Leader Alumni Award will honor a graduate who is 40 years of age or younger for their outstanding professional accomplishments, who demonstrates and upholds the university’s Cardinal Principles and who is an outstanding ambassador for the university.

“Our graduates are making an impact in Louisville, the Commonwealth and beyond,” said Josh Hawkins, assistant vice president for alumni relations. “I am excited to announce these two new awards that will recognize some of the many graduates who serve as catalysts for change in their communities.”

In addition to these two new awards, the university will continue to give awards for outstanding graduates from each school and college, as well as the prestigious Alumna/Alumnus of the Year award.

The university invites public nominations through May 7 for all awards. Nominations can be made online at UofLAlumni.org/Awards.


Jill Scoggins handles media relations for the university and oversees distribution of all releases, advisories and other outreach to the media. If you are a reporter needing a source on a subject, contact Jill and she will see about putting you in touch with a UofL faculty or staff member. Jill has more than 25 years’ experience in higher education communications at 7 institutions in 4 states.