Student Award Winners 2019
Student Award Winners 2019

Students were honored for outstanding work in a ceremony April 10 in the Student Activities Center.

The UofL Student Awards, now in its 20th year, recognize students based on leadership, service and involvement. A committee selects recipients from student, faculty and staff nominations.

Dean of Students Michael Mardis, who assisted in presenting the awards, said it’s exciting to see so many worthy students being recognized for their contributions to improving the university and wider community.

“The celebration highlights the diversity of the student body and the many ways they serve others,” he said. “The dedication of our students and the impact they are making is impressive. It’s an important learning outcome that we hope students will leave the university with – engaging in our community and using their talents to serve others. We are fortunate at UofL to have so many outstanding students in campus organizations.”

Emcees were 2018 Homecoming Queen Madison Pumphrey, Homecoming King Jonathan Fuller, Ms. Cardinal Masden Griffiths and Mr. Cardinal Chris Tipton.

Click here for a picture gallery of the evening, which was sponsored by Commonwealth Credit Union. Award winners are listed below.

DRC Student of the Year Award
Allyson Fry

Intramural and Recreational Sports Solid Performance Award
Makayla Bilyeu
Dylan Gephart
Dakota Graue
Caitlin Holliday
Alex Lancaster
Souraya Lorenz
Zach Mofield

ACC Top Six for Service Awards
Kaela Dickerman
Bailey Florek
Victoria Gabor
Margaret Geraghty
Madison Luette
Linda Mutter

Adult Learner Awards
Brian “Buffalo Stille” Scott
Major Charles Bonner
Dr. Denise Cumberland
Chelsea Wicks

Outstanding Metropolitan College Student Award
Julianne Hummel

Profiles in Leadership
Bayley Amburgey
Joey Breckenridge, Jr.
Mariko Chou
Hayden Combs
Alex Elias
Nicole Fielder
Joseph Hock
Lauren Jones
Nada Kaissieh
Langston Love
Sean Madden
Brandon McClain
Caitlin McGuigan
Carolecia Mobley
Rebecca Myers
Madison Offenberger
Henrietta “Henny” Ransdell
Alyssa M. Ray
Cheyenne Richardson
Katja RieBenberger
Callie Rudd
Emma Sears
Jalena Slaton
Scotland Stewart
Pratistha Thapa
Selena Thé
Angel Thornsbury
Makayla Uebelhor
Jayla Verrett
Michelle Wahlgren
Katie Walker
Savannah Winston
Daphne Woolridge

A&S Peer Advisor of the Year
Emily Johnson

A&S Peer Advisor Rookie of the Year
Masden Griffiths

Most Outstanding Gen 101 Teaching Assistant
Shelby Carter

PEACC Keeper Award
Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity
Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity
Phi Kappa Tau and Kappa Sigma Fraternities
Drake Coomer and Phi Delta Theta Fraternity
Alyssa Collina

Most Outstanding Orientation Peer Advisor
Daira Barnes

Katy Garrison LGBT Student Leadership Award
Dalton Maldonado
McClain Owens
Emma Radulski
Phoenix Washington

Campus Housing Desk Staff Member of the Year
Shyla Stump

Campus Housing Facilities Student Staff Member of the Year
Curtis McCoy

Campus Housing Resident Assistant Leader of the Year
Tariq Onodu

International Student and Scholar Center Award
Luis Cardona Olarte

CCU Outstanding Sophmore Student Award
Mina Ibrahim
Henrietta Ransdell
Jalena Slaton
Taris Smith
Nico Thom

CCU Outstanding Junior Student Award
Praneeth Goli

CCU Outstanding Senior Student Award
Noela M. Botaka
Nicole Fielder
Destinee Germany
Lazaro Munoz
Rebecca Myers

CCU Outstanding Student Awards for Graduate and Professional Students
Simra Ahmed
Kevin Jacob
Jakia Marie
Daniella Prince
Matthew Smith
Makayla Uebelhor

Spirit of Service (Individual)
Patrick Reeder

Spirit of Service (Group)
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Social Justice and Inclusion Award (Individual)
Finn DePriest

Social Justice and Inclusion Award (Student Group or Organization)
Society of Porter Scholars

Collaboration Award for Student Groups with University Departments
Young Communication Professionals
Career Development Center

Collaboration Award for Two or More Student Groups
Lambda Alpha Epsilon
Alpha Phi Sigma

Outstanding Academic/Educational Program
“Graduate Student Regional Research Conference,” Graduate Student Council

Outstanding Cultural Program
Miss Black UofL, sponsored by the National Society of Black Engineers

Outstanding New Program
The Cardinal Cupboard Food Pantry by the Engage Lead Serve Board

Outstanding Program of the Year
Dance Marathon sponsored by raiseRED

Outstanding Student Employee Award
Jade Montanez Chatman, Nursing
Anna Jones, Disability Recourse Center
Jacob Lamping, Office of Admissions
Callie Rudd, Student Involvement
Sara Tucker, Intramural Sports and Campus Housing

Advisor of the Year
Tony Simms, School of Medicine Class of 2021

Harold Adams Award
David Hatfield

Outstanding New Organization of the Year
United Nations Association of Women at University of Louisville

Student Organization of the Year Under 50 Members
CONECT the Caring Of New students Experiencing College Transition

Student Organization of the Year 50+ Members
She Became

Cardinal Award of Excellence
Nicole Fielder

Awards Judges
Ron Burse, Jami Campbell, Jessica Gernert, Melissa Hutchinson, Sarah Klump, Whitney Menser, Kathy Meyer, Denae Powell, Nicole Rosskopf, Stephanie Schoeder, Nakia Strickland, Dr. Angela Taylor and Brandy Warren

Niki King
Niki King Jones is positive she has the best job at the University of Louisville, serving the communication needs of the departments of fine arts and theatre, the School of Music, University Libraries and Alumni – all the fun, creative stuff. Before coming to UofL in 2015, Niki held communication positions in both private and nonprofit sectors in Louisville, Ky., including at Heaven Hill Distilleries and the Jewish Community of Louisville. For 10 years prior, she was a reporter at various newspapers across the country, most recently The Courier-Journal. Niki graduated from the University of Memphis with a BA in journalism and has a masters degree in community and leadership development from the University of Kentucky.