Sandhu selected as ACA Fellow

Daya Sandhu, professor and former chair, Department of Educational and Counseling Psychology, College of Education and Human Development, is a new American Counseling Association Fellow. Selected by the ACA National Awards Committee, Sandhu will be honored at the annual convention on March 24.

ACA fellowship goes to ACA members of professional distinction who have a reputation as a recognized authority. Fellows must have made significant impact on the field of professional counseling through substantial and distinctive achievements and strong leadership both at the national and international levels.

Sandhu is recognized as one of the pioneers of multicultural counseling and development and as an authority on mental health issues of Asian and Pacific Islander Americans. He has published extensively in the areas of cross-cultural counseling, gender equity and diversity issues, school violence, neuroliguistic programming and the role of spirituality in counseling and psychotherapy. His two textbooks are recognized as contemporary classic books. He has launched a mental health movement in India and has served as the founding executive director of the Association of Mental Health Counselors (India), a professional association he established in 2010 at the Guru Nanak Dev University Amritsar, Punjab, India.

McClain named to NIH National Advisory Council on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

Craig J. McClain, MD, professor of medicine, is among four new members appointed by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius to the 15-member National Advisory Council on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism of the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA). The council advises the secretary, the director of the National Institutes of Health and NIAAA director on program and policy matters, offers recommendations on research conducted at NIAAA and reviews applications for grants and cooperative agreements. McClain is chief of research affairs, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition; associate vice president for translational research; and Distinguished University Scholar. He also serves as chief of gastroenterology at the Robley Rex Veterans Administration Medical Center in Louisville. He is an internationally distinguished clinician-scientist in the fields of gastroenterology, alcoholic liver disease, nutrition and infectious diseases including HIV/AIDS.

Scott receives outstanding leadership award

Terry Scott, chair and professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education and Human Development, will receive the Outstanding Leadership Award from the Council for Children with Behavioral Disorders, a division of the Council for Exceptional Children. The annual award recognizes a person who has made significant contributions through their research, leadership, teaching and service and has had a significant impact on the field of behavioral disorders over a considerable period of time. Scott will receive the award at the national CEC Convention in April.

Owen receives early career award
Jesse Owen, assistant professor, Department of Educational and Counseling Psychology, has been selected to receive the American Psychological Foundation Division 29 (Psychotherapy) 2012 Early-Career Award. The foundation provides support for “innovative research and programs that enhance the power of psychology to elevate the human condition and advance human potential both now and in future generations to come.”

Doctoral student Acquati to participate in leadership training

Chiara Acquati, first- year Kent School of Social Work doctoral student, has been selected and funded to participate in a two-day Excellence in Cancer Education and Leadership training, funded by the National Cancer Institute, Association of Oncology Social Work, and the Association of Pediatric Oncology Social Work to make the provision of psychosocial services an integral component of quality of care for cancer patients and their families.

Theriot is board certified in medical management

The Certifying Commission in Medical Management (CCMM) recently designated pediatrics professor Judith Theriot, MD, a certified physician executive for educational achievements, demonstrated stature as a physician and experience in the field of medical management. The CPE designation is used in signatures and indicates that a physician has achieved superior levels of professional excellence and management education, while also demonstrating effective knowledge and leadership skills.