Brian Buford, assistant provost for diversity and director of the UofL LGBT Center
Brian Buford, assistant provost for diversity and director of the UofL LGBT Center

Brian Buford, director of UofL’s LGBT Center and assistant provost for diversity, has been given the Trans Ally of the Year Award from Louisville-based Transwomen National.

The award was presented Nov. 21 during the group’s inaugural banquet. Buford was named Trans Ally of the Year along with Chris Hartman, director of Kentucky’s Fairness Campaign.

Both were recognized for their support of the transgender community.

“I was honored to receive an award from Transwomen National, and I know it’s because I work for such an inclusive, supportive university,” Buford said.  “We’ve made great strides in welcoming our trans community because of the courage and commitment of our president and administration.  It’s really recognition for the whole university and its commitment.”

“From the very beginning of the LGBT Center it was clear that Brian Buford was fully committed to include the T with the LG&B, which sadly is not always the case,” said Holly Knight, president of Transwomen National. “Brian has also worked closely with the local trans community with our awareness events and has hosted many events on the UofL campus.  Beyond Brian’s professional commitment, he is such a special person with a loving heart for all human beings and if the world had more Brian Bufords, we would certainly have a much better world!”

Also honored at the banquet was Dawn Wilson, who received a lifetime achievement award. The LGBT Center recently announced a scholarship in her name, the Dawn Wilson Scholarship for LGBT Students of Color.

More information on the event and Transwomen National can be found here.

Janet Cappiello covers student success for the Office of Communications and Marketing. She has more than 30 years’ experience in journalism, including working for The Associated Press and magazines such as Vegetarian Times and Sustainability: The Journal of Record. She has been at UofL since 2014.